“We all wear masks, and the time comes when we cannot remove them without removing some of our own skin.” ~André Berthiaume

Most of us…probably all of us have masks that we wear. Masks that aren’t who we really are. My mask has been built by parents who want me to be like them and by friends who think I am them. For one, my style choice might be a little slutty…but that’s my style. Two, I highly doubt theres a modern 16 year old in America who likes to wear granny clothes. My mom and I constantly clash on style. My bedroom isn’t even my style. Only about 1/3 of my clothes are my style. As for my dad and I, we clash on beliefs. I don’t think abortion is right after the third trimester and I think homosexual are actually pretty cool aka they don’t deserve to be cut to shreds by people. My father is hugely religious and believes all homosexuals are horrible people…he also thinks its a choice. I disagree but my dad and I are two very stubborn people. So stubborn in fact, that I have no emotional ties to my father. Sadly, he’s up here on the computer most of the day (he has a wordpress..shh!) and we just don’t agree on anything. I can’t stand to be around him because my beliefs are important to me and it feels like he doesn’t respect them. I found out in 7th grade, that my brother sent him the song Perfect by Simple Plan when he graduated and my dad absolutely hates that song (he’s in denial). Therefore; I made a mask. If I don’t stand up for what I believe in then my home life is much more mellow. That unfortunately transfers into the outer world…I people please so that there’s less drama. Unfortunately, inside, I’m not a people pleaser. I don’t want to argue my beliefs for days but I’d like to be like “hey these are my beliefs, respect them.” Truth is, if I got in trouble. My parents would the LAST ones I’d call and if I was in a bad situation and that was the only option…I’d probably stay in the bad situation before calling my parents. I don’t trust them. “My Mask” doesn’t like to let people down so if I got caught in bad situation…I wouldn’t be people pleasing them, I’d be disappointing them and I’ve done that often enough. It’s not a good feeling. I’d stay in the bad situation before letting them know I’d disappointed them. I want to tear of mask and tell my parents how I feel but I don’t feel comfortable doing that when I live under their roof…

~ by emmigirl on October 15, 2010.

9 Responses to ““We all wear masks, and the time comes when we cannot remove them without removing some of our own skin.” ~André Berthiaume”

  1. ahhh this is amazing! i completely agree…
    p.s. i love that simple plan song/album
    keep blogging!

    :)
    Katie

  2. You sound strong and have a right to your own ideas and beliefs even when such beliefs dissagree with others. I respect you by your respecting your parents and their home. Believe in yourself. Believe in your parents. They probably love you and are trying to do right by you (even if it doesn’t feel like it). Be okay to dissagree with them even if you do so quietly. And always remember that making mistakes is part of life…. even your parents made mistakes and will continue to do so. It is their responsiblilty to be there for you in your time of need, no matter what. I’m a 45 year old, mother of a 25 year old, and know that when you become a wonderful mother as well, your child will never dissappoint you to the point you don’t want to be there to help them, come whatever! I promise!

  3. I believe that we put on masks to become someone we had hoped to be and sometimes to hide from who we really are.

  4. I am floored by what you wrote! My fathers the same way. My mom used to be harsh but only because she wasn’t sure that he wasnt right about me being totally bad. He made up the most horrible stories about what I must have been doing when I’d come home a little late and never listen to the truth. I rarely was ever doing anything wrong, but he was so stuck on these things he imagined that he’d never listen to me when I would try to tell him I was at the library studying or something like that.
    Anyway, now I’m in my 50’s and I realize I wish I had just played along until I was out of there. I know that’s wearing a mask and I’ve never done that. Which is why we fought so much. He wore as many masks as friends he had, for each hobby, sport, or organization.,
    Just remember, you’ll be out and on your own before long. You’ll have all the rest of your life to be who you want to be and do whatever you want. The Rest of Your Life! So just hang in there, love them the best that you can. It won’t be long before gone from them, to leave with them loving and missing you, is the best thing you can do!

  5. “Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.”
    -Ghandi
    the only person you should be trying to please is yourself, the rest will fall into place. build a strong foundation of who you are and dont be afraid to defend your beliefs.

  6. Parents believe they are to raise their children, not the other way around. Be gentle with mom and dad, it’s not easy to accept a child is more wise. If you would like to improve your relationship with your father, start with giving him credit whenever you agree with his words and rather than feeding his intimidation for your wisdom.

    P.S. Don’t stop writing, you got what it takes!

  7. I have worn a mask all my life,still do. It makes life difficult,sad and lonely because your hiding the real you. The people that truly love you will love you for who you are and not what they want you to be. It took me too long to realize that,your still young. Love yourself just the way you are and for who you are. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

